No Cause

Sansaku: No Cause

4/20/24

The Timberline teenagers had a weapon they used against teachers who scolded.  They’d say: “Whatever.”  Then turn and walk away.  When Corder lectured me, which was often, I almost always thanked him.  This marked a change in me.  In love, defenses go down.

There’s much humanity in the words positive psychology depends on: gratitude and grief, kindness, love and joy.  I’ve never made a list.  They come on their own accord.  Hard times transmuted.

Robert Bly considered grief a path to consciousness.  One way we learn to praise.  The story of Treya Wilber dying of cancer is called Grace and Grit.  The song I wrote for Chyako in Japan and far away.  “The lessons that we learn, living side by side.  Even when you’re gone, I whisper in your ear, and know that you can hear: the many words of love.”

Stories that move the heart are rich in love and what it means to suffer being human.  I don’t remember courses in grief, gratitude and love in the counseling curriculum.  Definitely not dreams.  A serious oversight.

Corder asked: “Do you know what surprises me?”  I shook my head.  He said: “That I still get surprised.”  Talking about someone and wondering what made him tick.  He studied people, like biologist’s study animals.  The algorithm he used didn’t take long to zero-in on type.

In a way, he was always on stage.  A never-ending performance.  If someone said something deserving, he had a bag of come-backs.  Not sure I heard him repeat one.  They were always context specific.

Did I ever see him angry?  Not really.  Compared to George, this was big time significant.  I did have the feeling he could be like the Godfather if I crossed him.  “You too can be replaced.”  I gave him no cause.

Leave a comment